Former Cop Among 30 Candidates In Aam Aadmi Party’s 2nd Punjab Polls List

Former Cop Among 30 Candidates In Aam Aadmi Party's 2nd Punjab Polls List

This is the second list of candidates announced by the AAP for the 2022 Punjab polls. File


Former Punjab Police officer Kunwar Vijay Pratap Singh, who had headed the SIT probing the 2015 Kotkapura and Behbal Kalan firing cases, is among the list of 30 candidates released by the Aam Aadmi Party today for the upcoming Punjab Assembly polls.

This is the second list of candidates announced by the AAP. Earlier, the party had announced names of 10 candidates who are all sitting legislators.

Mr Singh has been given a ticket from the Amritsar North seat. He had taken voluntary retirement in April this year and later joined the AAP.

Mr Singh, who was the Inspector General of Police, had tendered his resignation after the Punjab and Haryana High Court had quashed the probe by the SIT into the 2015 Kotkapura firing incident.

Punjabi singer Anmol Gagan Mann will contest from Kharar seat while Balkar Singh Sidhu will contest polls from Rampura Phul seat.

Raman Bahl, who quit the Congress last month and joined the AAP, has been given a ticket from Gurdaspur seat while Jagroop Singh Sekhwan, son of former Punjab minister Sewa Singh Sekhwan, will contest from Qadian. Sewa Singh Sekhwan died in October.

Vibhuti Sharma has been given ticket from Pathankot, Shamsher Singh from Dina Nagar (SC), Sherry Kalsi from Batala, Balbir Singh Pannu from Fatehgarh Churian, Inderbir Singh Nijjar from Amritsar South, Laljit Singh Bhullar from Patti, Balkar Singh from Kartarpur (SC), Ravjot Singh from Sham Chaurasi (SC), Lalit Mohan from Nawan Shahr and Daljit Singh from Ludhiana East.

Kulwant Singh Sidhu will fight from Atam Nagar, Manwinder Singh from Payal (SC), Naresh Kataria from Zira, Jagdeep Singh from Muktsar, Gurdit Singh Sekhon from Faridkot, Neena Mittal from Rajpura, Harmeet Singh from Sanour, Chetan Singh from Samana and Madan Lal Bagga from Ludhiana North.

Jiwan Singh has been given ticket from Gill (SC), Gurmeet Singh Khudian (Lambi), Gurlal from Ghanaur, Labh Singh Ugoke from Bhadaur (SC), Lal Chand from Bhoa (SC) and Harbhajan Singh from Jandiala (SC) seat.

The election to the 117-member Punjab Assembly is due early next year.

(Except for the headline, this story has not been edited by NDTV staff and is published from a syndicated feed.)

Also Read:

(This Article has not been edited by NEWSUP18 and it is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

(Like our Facebook page for the latest posts, as well as follow us on Google News and Twitter. )

Share This